SYMPHONIC SLAM - Symphonic Slam (A&M SP 4619) USA 1976 LP
vinyl: NM (mint-)| cover: VG+ (aged)

Symphonic Slam was mainly about Timo Laine (born in Finland, and moved to America as a child), and his polyphonic guitar synthesizer. The rest of the band was filled out by drummer John Lowery, and keyboardist David Stone.
Timo had been playing the club circuit for a while, but it wasn't until he relocated to Canada that things began to happen. It was there that Symphonic Slam was discovered by A&M Records. What set them apart was the $10,000 360 systems guitar synthesizer prototype. This led to the release of their 1976 self-titled album.
They toured, and played gigs with some of the big names of the time (Rush, The Rolling Stones, and the Village People). Soon they were asked to go to L.A. to work on a new album. Not being interested in this tack, Stone took the opportunity to defect to Rainbow.
After the album was completed, A&M wasn't pleased (they wanted disco). Timo took it to Canada, and created his own label on which to release it. It had some modest success, but Laine wasn't interested in going back to L.A. to fight disco once again.

A1 Universe6:39
A2 Everytime4:22
A3 Fold Back2:48
A4 I Won't Cry2:51
A5 Let It Grow3:53
B1 Modane Train4:17
B2 Times Run Short2:46
B3 Days4:58
B4 Summer Rain1:54
B5 How Do You Stand4:55

Write a review

Please login or register to review

SYMPHONIC SLAM Symphonic Slam (A&M SP 4619) USA 1976 LP (Prog Rock, Symphonic Rock)

  • Product Code: LP
  • Availability: 1
  • 9.50€